The agreement on visa facilitation and the agreement on readmission

The Agreement on Visa Facilitation and the Agreement on Readmission between the European Union and the Republic of Serbia were signed on 18 September 2007, representing the first step towards establishing a visa free regime. The first of the two simplifies the procedure and reduces the costs for issuing visas, specifies which categories of persons are entitled to a visa for a longer period, as well as categories entitled to free visas.

On the other hand, the aim of the Agreement on Readmission is to establish fast and efficient procedures for identification and secure return of persons that fail to (or no longer) fulfill conditions for entry, stay or residence on the territory of any European Union member state or Serbia. These agreements came into effect on 1 January 2008.

The Agreement on Visa Facilitation can be downloaded here.

The Agreement on Readmission can be downloaded here.